19.5 F
Thursday, January 20, 2022

    Latest Posts

    Michigan’s Aidan Hutchinson wins the Lombardi Award

    Michigan edge rusher Aidan Hutchinson, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, has won the Lombardi Award.

    Hutchinson was one of four finalists for the award presented Wednesday night in Houston. The other finalists: Kenyon Green, offensive lineman, Texas A&M, Mike Rose, linebacker from Iowa State and Iowa center Tyler Linderbaum.

    It is presented to the offensive or defensive lineman or linebacker who in addition to outstanding performance and ability on the field, best exemplifies the character and discipline of NFL Hall of Fame coach Vince Lombardi.

    He is a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented Saturday night in New York.

    Hutchinson is Michigan’s first Lombardi winner since LaMarr Woodley in 2006. Hutchinson set the single-season sack record with year with 14, breaking the record of 12 held by Woodley and David Bowens.

    His father, Chris Hutchinson, a 1992 Michigan captain and All-American, presented his son with the finalist plaque before the winner was announced. Chris Hutchinson had 11 sacks that season, previously second all-time at Michigan, before Aidan Hutchinson moved past him.

    Source link

    Latest Posts


    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.